About

About

The goal of INFORMS Healthcare 2017 is to bring together academic researchers in “healthcare analytics” and industry stakeholders who are applying this research to share information and improve the delivery of effective healthcare. The health sector is catching up fast but still lags behind other industries such as airlines, hotel chains, and retail in the adoption of systematic and quantitative analysis used in decision support, and this conference will help to bridge the informational gap. The conference aims to bring a cross-cultural view of healthcare systems worldwide and the research and applications designed to improve these systems in areas such as:

  • New methods associated with defining value in healthcare
  • Incorporation of O.R. and industrial engineering in healthcare delivery
  • Intersection of healthcare and public health to provide a more “population” perspective on value
  • Medical decision making
  • Computational optimization
  • Patient wait time guarantees
  • Effective use of electronic health records
  • Delivering healthcare in developing countries

Contributions in synergistic fields are also welcome: healthcare policy, clinical decision making, global health, therapy and treatment delivery, public health, and health informatics.

Joris van de Klundert
Erasmus University Rotterdam
Institute of Health Policy & Management
vandeklundert@bmg.eur.nl

Edwin Romeijn
H. Milton Stewart School of Industrial & Systems Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology
edwin.romeijn@isye.gatech.edu

Sandra Sulz
Institute of Health Policy & Management
Erasmus University Rotterdam
sulz@bmg.eur.nl

Disease and Treatment Modeling

Omid Nohadani
Department of Industrial Engineering and Management Sciences
Northwestern University
nohadani@northwestern.edu

Healthcare Data Analytics and Machine Learning

Mohsen Bayati
Graduate School of Business
Stanford University
bayati@stanford.edu

Health and Humanitarian Logistics

Julie Swann
H. Milton Stewart School of Industrial & Systems Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology
julie.swann@isye.gatech.edu

Health Information Technology and Management

Mohan Lal Tarun
Mayo Clinic Rochester
MohanLal.Tarun@mayo.edu

Health Operations Management

Nan Kong
Weldon School of Biomedical Engineering
Purdue University
nkong@purdue.edu

Vishal Ahuja
Cox School of Business
Southern Methodist University
vahuja@smu.edu

Health Systems in Low and Middle Income Countries

Hari Balasubramanian
Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
hbalasubraman@ecs.umass.edu

Chaitra Gopalappa
Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
chaitrag@umass.edu

Medical Decision Making

Oguzhan Alagoz
Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
University of Wisconsin-Madison
alagoz@engr.wisc.edu

Personalized Medicine

Anil Aswani
Department of Industrial Engineering and Operations Research
University of California-Berkeley
aaswani@ieor.berkeley.edu

Public Health and Policy Making

Diwakar Gupta
Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
University of Minnesota
guptad@umn.edu

Sarang Deo
Indian School of Business
sarang_deo@isb.edu

Greg Zaric
Ivey Business School
University of Western Ontario
gzaric@ivey.uwo.ca

Qingxia Kong
Rotterdam School of Management
Erasmus University Rotterdam
q.kong@rsm.nl

INFORMS Healthcare Applications Society

Mehmet U.S. Ayvaci
University of Texas at Dallas

mehmet.ayvaci@utdallas.edu

Erwin Hans
Faculty of Behavioural, Management & Social Sciences
University of Twente
e.w.hans@utwente.nl

Jan Hazelzet
Erasmus MC
Erasmus University Rotterdam
j.a.hazelzet@erasmusmc.nl

Vikram Tiwari
School of Medicine
Vanderbilt University
vikram.tiwari@vanderbilt.edu

Christos Vasilakis
School of Management
University of Bath
c.vasilakis@bath.ac.uk

Kristiaan Glorie
Department of Mathematics
Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
km.glorie@vu.nl

Harwin de Vries
Erasmus School of Economics
Erasmus University Rotterdam
hdevries@ese.eur.nl